Sanctuary Cove Golf Club - Cox Rayner Architects

Sanctuary Cove Golf Club, Cox Rayner Architects
photo Christopher Frederick Jones

What's on

in Queensland

  • 1-12 Apr
    QLD State Jury Tour

  • 14 June
    State Awards Event
  • Queensland prizes

    Congratulations Emma Healy our 2019 QLD Emerging Architect prize recipient. 
    Emma has shown an enormous commitment to both the architectural profession and also the wider community.

    Her capacity as a design architect is outstanding, but she has also demonstrated a rare and immense commitment to the role that architectural leadership and involvement can play in much broader community and social conversations.  

    Emma is a fantastic advocate within the architectural community as well as the community more broadly, proven by her work to promote flexible roles within small and medium practices, support for female leaders within the profession and engagement with multiple community groups including Architects Without Frontiers, AUSAID, Australian Youth Ambassadors and the Cakaudrove Women's Resource Centre in Fiji. As a member of the Queensland Australian Institute of Architects Gender Equity Committee and past juror for the Australian Institute of Architects Interior Design Awards Emma has shown her dedication to improving and supporting the profession on multiple fronts.

    Emma’s design excellence is evident by her involvement in many awarded projects and as a design leader within Reddog Architects and previously m3architecture. Emma has shown time and time again her commitment to causes she believed strongly in and is a fantastic example of the way these beliefs can help inform an architectural career and approach to practice. Emma’s university thesis tied directly to her role as a volunteer tutor for immigrant families and the research undertaken for her final university design project lead to a strong ongoing connection with the community group Food Connect Shed. The jury was unanimous in its decision and considers that the 2018 Queensland Emerging Architect Prize shows the value of this often under recognised work, and also the beginning of an illustrious and inspired career in architecture.  

    Previous Emerging Architect Prize Winners 
     Year    Recipient/s Year National prize 
     2019  Emma Healy  TBA  TBA
     2018  Lachlan Neilsen and Morgan Jenkins   2019  Monique Woodward (VIC)
    2017 Christina Cho  2018 Christina Cho 
    2016 Matthew Eagle 2017  
     2015 Aaron Peters 2016  Amy Muir (VIC)
     2014  Kim Baber 2015  Nic Brunsdon (WA)
     2013  N/A 2014  Andrew Burns
     2012  David Teeland 2013  Clare Cousins (VIC)
     2011  N/A 2012  Kelly Rattigan (WA)
     2010  N/A 2011  Dr Marcus White (VIC)   

     QIA Memorial Medallion 

    The QIA Memorial Medallion was established in 1948 as a prize to commemorate the Queensland Institute of Architects which was founded in 1888 and later became the Royal Australian Institute of architects, Queensland Chapter. The medallion is maintained by a donation from the RAIA Queensland Chapter and formal rules for the prize were established in 1993.

    • awarded to a Bachelor of Architecture student with the greatest proficiency over the final two years of the program
    • the prize is a QIA Medallion and a certificate
    • the recipient is to be recommended by the Head of Department

    Previous QIA Memorial Medallion winners
     Year   Queensland University of Technology   University of Queensland  Griffith University  BOND University 
     2013  Nicholas Martoo  Racheal McCall    
     2012  Hannah Slater  Jack Dodgson    
     2011  Matt Martoo  Katrina Torresan    
     2010  Andrew Varendorff
     Nikolas Struger
     2009  Carla Pappalardo
     Claire Humphreys
     2008  Murray Lane  Nicholas Skepper    
     2007  Jayne Kelly  Jonathan Kopinski    
     2006  Aaron Peters  Jade Myers    
     2005  Sean Butler  Matthew van Koov    
     2004  Shy Tay  Michelle Lucas    
     2003  Katie Maccoll  Peter Cain    
     2002  Ashley Paine  Casey Vallance    
     2001  Marc Sciberras  Megan Rogers    
     2000  Timothy Benneton  Susan Holden    
     1999  Hung Chung Ling  Julian Patterson