National Library of Australia, Cunningham Martyn Design
photo John Gollings

What's On in ACT

Solar House Day - Build, Renovate or Buy?
24 July 2019

Solar House Bus Tour
28 July 2019




      2019 ACT Architecture Awards 

Key Dates  
 Online entries open  Monday 10 December 2018
 Online entries close  Friday 1 March 2019, 11:59pm
 Submission of additional material  Friday 8 March 2019
 Presentation to Juries  14-15 March 2019
 Jury Site Visits  27-29 March 2019
Awards Presentation Night   Saturday 15 June 2019 

Entries to the ACT Architecture Awards for 2019 are now closed. Further information for entrants will be emailed directly. Entrants are required to read the Awards, Prizes and Honours Policy, the Awards Terms and Conditions and the Awards Entry Handbook. These documents can be found here
At the November 2018 National Council meeting, some changes were made to the policy that come into effect for the 2019 Awards Program.

Key changes for ACT entrants include: 

  • Self-nominations are now required for both Sustainable Architecture and COLORBOND® Steel for Architecture categories
  • ACT Boundary – Only entries in the following postcodes will be considered in the ACT Architecture Awards: 2000-2607, 2609, 2611-2612, 2614-2621, 2623, 2900, 2902- 2906, 2911-2914 and Jervis Bay Territory. Please refer to attached map. Projects outside of these postcodes must be entered into the NSW Architecture Awards.
  • Small Projects Category: Projects in this category will be those considered to be “small” in terms of area or budget. Projects are recognised that have been constrained by space or cost restrictions, but have achieved a level of invention, creativity and craftsmanship despite these constraints. This category can accommodate projects typically projects in the public realm, which may be over-looked against larger scale projects in other categories or may be transient or experimental in nature, such as exhibition design, set design, playgrounds, architectural sculptures, or installations that may or may not be able to be visited by the Jury. Projects of all functional types may be considered. Exclusions: Residential projects are not eligible for this category. Projects concurrently entered into any other category are not eligible for this category.
For assistance on the process, please contact the ACT Chapter on or 02 6208 2100.

Jury Presentations

11:15am-5pm, Thursday, 14 March
Schedule Day 1

10:30am-4:30pm, Friday 15 March
Schedule Day 2

ACT Chapter, Australian Institute of Architects
2a Mugga Way, Red Hill ACT 2603
2019 ACT Emerging Architect Prize
Key ACT Dates  
 Online entries open  Monday, 4 March 2019
 Online nominations close  Friday, 12 April 2019
 Announcement Date  Friday, 15 June 2019

Nominations for the ACT Emerging Architect are now open.

Chapter winners will receive the following prize:
  • One (1) x ticket to attend their local Chapter Architecture Awards event
  • One (1) x ticket to the National Architecture Awards, including return economy airfares from their closest Chapter city and accommodation for up to one night
  • One (1) x ticket to the National Architecture Conference, including return economy airfares from their closes Chapter city and accommodation for up to two nights
  • $1,000.00
The ACT Emerging Architect Panel is:
  • Chapter President: Philip Leeson
  • Previous Emerging Architect Prize Winner: Shannon Battisson
  • Chair of local EmAGN group
  • AWS State Architectural Specification Manager: James Daley

The Emerging Architect Prize is proudly supported by Architectural Window Systems (AWS)

For assistance on the process and online entry system, please contact the ACT Chapter on or 02 6208 2100.
ACT Enduring Architect Prize 2019

Do you have a longstanding, favourite building in the ACT you feel should be recognised with an award? 

Open to buildings of at least 25 years of age, the Enduring Architecture Award recognises achievement for the design of buildings of outstanding merit, which remain important as high quality works of architecture when considered in a contemporary context. Nominations are welcome from Institute members, non-members and non-architects, but must provide adequate content for consideration by the jury.

Please note that this award category is designed to recognise the enduring features of the original work, not any substantial adaptive re-use. Projects will be works considered technically advanced or innovative for their time, which remain symbolically significant, are exponents of creative leadership or are works of national significance.

Nominations are to include a project description and statement of cultural/heritage significance. Other materials that would help assist the jury, including drawings and photographs, would be greatly appreciated.

Nominations are to be submitted to the ACT Chapter:

Previous ACT Enduring Architecture Prize Winners:

2018 St. Thomas Aquinas Church, Charnwood, Mitchell Giugola and Thorp Architects, 1989
2017 Lakeview Town Houses, Yarralumla, Harry Seidler & Associates 1984
2016 Rivendell, Kambah, Laurie Virr 1975
2015 Burgmann College, Acton, Dirk Bold & Associates 1971
2014 Apostolic Nunciature, Red Hill, Enrico Taglietti 1796-1977
2013 Parliament House, Mitchell Giurgola and Thorp 1988
2012 Australian Institute of Sport, Swimming Pool Centre, Bruce, Daryl Jackson PTY LTD 1982
2011 Red Hill Primary School, Red Hill, Department of Works 1960
2010 Belconnen Public Library, Belconnen Town Centre, Robin Gibson & Partners
2009 CSIRO FC Pye Laboratory, Dickson Way Acton, Ancher Mortlock Murray & Woolley

ACT Chapter Major Partner 
ACT Chapter Partner

ACT Architecture Awards Supporters