Garagistes - Paul Johnston Architects

Paul Johnston Architects, Photo: Luke Burgess

What's on

Tasmanian Council & committees

This page has information on Tasmanian Chapter Council, committees, forums, office holders and fellows. For information on council or committee business, please contact the Tasmanian Chapter office.

Chapter Council

The Institute's business in Tasmania is managed by the Tasmanian Chapter Council. The Chapter President is the National Councillor elected by the Tasmanian members.

Chapter Council members
Members of the Chapter Council for 2019 are:  
Shamus Mulcahy


Yvette Breytenbach
Immediate Past President


Sophie Bence
Richard Crawford
Cath Hall
Genevieve Lilley
Carly McMahon
Gaetano Palmese
Paul Wakelam
Emily Ouston
Daniel Lane
Dik Jarman
Bee Newman
(EmAGN Chair)

Chris Morrison
Student rep (SONA)

Committees & forums

The Tasmanian Chapter has a number of committees which organise activities such as assisting with the Tasmanian State Architecture Awards, through to writings citations for significant 20th century buildings and meeting with the Minister on matters of policy.

Significant Architecture Committee (in recess)

Chaired by Paul Johnston, this group seeks to promote significant Tasmanian buildings from every era to the National Estate Register. Currently, this committee consists of a working group who are collating citations for significant 20th century buildings in Tasmania.

Paul Johnston (chair) 
Genevieve Lilley

Continuing Professional Development Committee

The Tasmanian CPD Committee is chaired by Tram Tran. It considers issues around policy relating to CPD, reviews policy and makes recommendations. The committee is also concerned with the development and review of CPD events held in the Tasmanian Chapter.

Tram Tran (chair)
Keith Drew
Ian Johnston
Andrew McCreary
Jonathon Pyefinch
Scott Flett

Education Committee

The Education Committee considers issues relating to architectural education, spanning the life of an architecture career. A central function of this committee is to coordinate the Interim Review Panel that under take the accreditation process of the UTAS Architecture and Design programs, the Masters of Architecture and the Bachelor of Environmental Design.

Greg Nolan
Brad Wheeler
Daniel Lane
Carly McMahon
Nikki Nolan
Paul Morrow

Practice Committee

Shane Cox chairs the Tasmanian Practice Committee which considers matters relating to the practice of architecture, particularly in Tasmania. Further, the Practice Committee develops and recommends CPD sessions for members related to practice issues.

Shane Cox (chair)
Peter Gaggin
Andrew Grimsdale
Andrew Shurman
Martin Simpson
Mike Verdouw
Misho Vasiljevich
Sam McQueeney
Stuart Tanner

Sustainability Committee

Placing sustainability at the core of architects’ practices and professional responsibilities is the agenda of the Sustainability Committee chaired by Detlev Geard. The committee does research and develops policies, regulations, practices, products, curricula, services, standards, contracts and other mechanisms that will facilitate the implementation of sustainability.

Detlev Geard (chair)
Riq de Carvalho
Mark Dewsbury
Stephen Geason
Uta Green
Stuart McKenzie Hall
Steven Spizick
Paul Wakelam

The Findlay Project (Women in Architecture Committee)

The Findlay Project hosts a series of events and activities that highlight the role of women in architecture in Tasmania, strengthening the profession through fostering connections. This committee is chaired by Sophie Bence.

Sophie Bence 
Yvette Breytenbach
Genevieve Lilley
Helen Norrie
Bek Verrier

EmAGN Committee (EAT)

Chaired by Bee Newman, the Emerging Architects + Graduates Network (EmAGN) / Emerging Architects Tasmania (EAT) Committee provides networking opportunities for emerging architects in Tasmania and hosts regular architecture events.

Bee Newman (chair)
Rachel Englund
Scott Flett
Philippa Grainger
Saxon Hall
Philippa Jensen 
Katie Katos
Jason Licht
Fiona McMullen
Paul Morrow
Rosie Shield

Tasmanian Architecture Awards Working Group

The Tasmanian Architecture Awards Working Group oversees the administration of the annual architecture awards, including the production of the awards exhibition and presentation dinner.

David Button
Rachel Englund
Neal Mackintosh
Gaetano Palmese
Craig Rosevear
Matt Sansom
Bek Verrier
Fred Ward


Open House Hobart Working Group

The Open House Hobart Working Group oversees the organisation, administration and delivery of the public architecture event Open House Hobart and associated activities.

Nicky Adams
Joanne Hickman
Paul Johnston
Genevieve Lilley
Natasha Newman

Research Task Group 

Yvette Breytenbach
Shamus Mulcahy 
Carly McMahon
Emily Ouston


Online nomination & voting

At the appropriate time members may nominate and, if a ballot is necessary, vote for:

  • Chapter Council
  • Chapter President
  • Nationally Elected Council Members
  • International Area Committee Members

Only eligible members may participate.

The Australian Institute of Architects' Online Nomination and Voting Service complies with the Institute's regulations for elections.

For support and assistance using this system please contact the Executive Support Team on or (02) 6121 2000.

Go to the online voting system.